Mobile City Council

Meeting Held by Police Citizens Advisory Council

The Police Citizens Community Relations Advisory Council held an organizational meeting this afternoon. At the meeting, members reviewed the ordinance creating the council and discussed their mission and responsibilities.

“This is a great group of citizens and we look forward to them working collaboratively with the Police Department and its leadership to enhance communication between our communities and police,” said Council President Gina Gregory.

The group is planning to meet again on Wednesday, November 9th at 4:00 PM in the City Council Conference Room on the 9th floor of Government Plaza’s South Tower. At that meeting, they are expected to elect leadership positions. They will also be inviting Chief Barber, Kenyen R. Brown, U.S. Attorney for the Southern District of Alabama and some citizens to join them.

In August, the Council voted to approve the creation of the advisory council to enhance the relationships and expand outreach efforts between the community and Police Department.

There are 8 members of the Council - one appointed by each City Council member and one by the Mayor. They include:

  • Vanessa Davis Wright
    Appointed by Council Vice President Fred Richardson

  • Thomas Nelson
    Appointed by Councilman Levon Manzie

  • Diane Chapman
    Appointed by Councilman C.J. Small

  • Doug Dabney
    Appointed by Councilman John Williams

  • Brad Israel
    Appointed by Councilman Joel Daves

  • Samuel L. Davis, III
    Appointed by Councilwoman Bess Rich

  • Dr. Claude Warren
    Appointed by Council President Gina Gregory

  • Sara McCoy
    Appointed by Mayor Sandy Stimpson

<< Back to Districts