News Room


 Subscribe to RSS Feed

The American Planning Association Honors Dianne Irby with Distinguished Leadership Award

September 05, 2017

Mobile, Ala. - The American Planning Association (APA) is honoring Dianne Irby with the Distinguished Leadership Award for a Professional Planner. This award recognizes an individual for his or her contributions to the planning profession through distinguished practice, teaching, or writing.

Irby was selected for her long range planning efforts that include spearheading the City's very first Capital Improvement Plan and leading the management and development of Mobile's first long range plan in decades, Map for Mobile: Framework for Growth.

"This recognition is well deserved," said Mayor Stimpson. "Dianne is a proven leader who bring world-class management and organizational skills to city government. Her willingness to take on difficult projects and see them to successful completion always impresses me-- most notably her work on Map for Mobile and the Capital Improvement Plan. "

The Alabama - Mississippi APA awards recognize contributions of individuals, agencies, organizations, local governments, or private companies within the State of Alabama who have completed outstanding programs or projects, or have made notable contributions to the planning profession. The Award Ceremony will held at the Double Tree Inn in Birmingham, Alabama on Thursday, October 5 during the 2017 Joint Alabama Mississippi Conference.

Last year, APA recognized Mayor Stimpson with the Distinguished Leadership Award for an Elected Public Official. This award honors an elected public official who has made important contributions and demonstrates positive support for planning in Alabama.
About the American Planning Association:
The American Planning Association provides leadership in the development of vital communities by advocating excellence in planning, promoting education and citizen empowerment, and providing our members with the tools and support necessary to meet the challenges of growth and change.

Dianne Irby